Underground Utility Damage Prevention
On This Page:
Vermont law requires that excavators, utility operators, and individuals, including homeowners, notify Dig Safe® at least 48-hours before excavating on public and private property, rights of ways and easements. These pages have been assembled to provide additional information to help excavators, homeowners, and utility operators avoid damages, protect personal and public safety. The Public Service Department vigorously enforces the damage prevention laws and can recommend fines up to $5000.00 for a violation. Please review and understand the laws and rules before you dig yourself into trouble.
- Premark the boundaries of your proposed excavation area.
- Call Dig Safe@ at 811, or 1-888-DIGSAFE (1-888-344-7233) two-business days before you begin excavation. Dig Safe@ will notify any member companies with utilities in the area who will then come and mark their lines for you. Dig Safe@ is a free service.
- Notify any non-member utilities such as municial water and sewer systems, or propane operators of your excavation two business days in advance.
All public utility companies are required to submit an underground facility damage report upon discovery of a damaged facility. This form is required to be submitted by the owner of the facility that was damaged. It is recommended that the excavator also fill out a copy of this form to report utility damages in order to facilitate the investigation process.
Public Utility Companies (Required Reporting)
Please fill out the On-Line Underground Facility Damage Report (UFDR) Form (preferred), or you can download the Underground Facility Damage Report (UFDR).
Excavators (Optional Reporting)
Please use the Underground Facility Damage Report (UFDR) form to report underground utility damages.
Training events are faciliated by the Public Service Department, and Managing Underground Safety Training (MUST).
The next training session is scheduled for July 17, 2014 in Montpelier at the Pavilion Office Building.
Two more sessions are scheduled: September 18 and November 13, 2014. Locations to be determined.
Vermont Public Service Board Rules
For information about the Engineering Division, please see the Divisions page.