
Title 09 : Commerce And Trade

Chapter 063 : Consumer Protection
Subchapter 003 : Fair Credit Reporting
(Cite as:9 V.S.A. 5 2480e)

o $ 2480e. Consumer consent
(a) A person shall not obtain the credít report of a consumer unless:

(1) the report is obtained in response to the order of a court having jurisdiction to issue such an order; or
(2) the person has secured the consent ofthe consumer, and the report is used for the purpose consented to by the

consumer.
(b) Credit reporting agencies shall adopt reasonable procedures to ensure maximum possible compliance with

subsection (a) of this section.
(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed to affect:
(1) the ability of a person who has secured the consent of the consumer pursuant to subdivision (aX2) of this section to

include in his or her request to the consumer permission to also obtain credit reports, in connection with the same

transaction or extension of credit, for the purpose of reviewing the account, increasing the credit line on the account,

for the purpose of taking collection action on the account, or for other legitimate purposes associated with the account;

and
(2) the use of credit information for the purpose of prescreening, as defined and permitted from time to time by the

FederalTrade Commission. (Added 1991, No. 246 (Adj. Sess.), $ 1.)
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o S 2480b. Disclosures to consumers
(a) A credit reporting agency shall, upon request and proper identification of any consumer, clearly and accurately

disclose to the consumer all information available to users at the time of the request pertaining to the consumer,

including:
(1) any credit score or predictor relating to the consumer, in a form and manner that complies with such comments or

guidelines as may be issued by the Federal Trade Commission;

(2) the names of users requesting information pertaining to the consumer during the prior l2-month period and the

date of each request; and
(3) a clear and concise explanation of the information.
(b) As frequently as new telephone directories are published, the credit report¡ng agency shall cause to be listed its

name and number in each telephone directory published to serve communities of this State. ln accordance with rules

adopted by the Attorney General, the credit reporting agency shall make provision for consumers to request by

telephone the informat¡on requ¡red to be disclosed pursuant to subsection (a) of this section at no cost to the consumer.

(c) Any time a credit reporting agency is required to make a written disclosure to consumers pursuant to 15 U.S.C. 5

16819, it shall disclose, in at least 12 point type, and in bold type as indicated, the following notice:

NOTICE TO VERMONT CONSUMERS

(1) Under Vermont law, you are allowed to receive one free copy of your credit report every 12 months from each credit

reporting agency. lf you would like to obtain your free credit report from [INSERT NAME OF COMPANY], you should

contact us by l[writing to the following address: [INSERT ADDRESS FOR OBTAINING FREE CREDIT REPORT]I or [calling the

following number: [INSERTTELEPHONE NUMBER FOR OBTAINING FREE CREDIT REPORT]I or bothl.
(2) Under Vermont law, no one may access your credit report without your permission except under the following

lim ited circumsta nces:

(A) in response to a court order;
(B) for direct mail offers of credit;
(C) if you have given ongoing permission and you have an existing relationship with the person requesting a copy of your

credit report;



(D) where the request for a credit report is related to an education loan made, guaranteed, or serviced by the Vermont

Student Assista nce Corporation;
(E) where the request for a credit report is by the Office of Child Support Services when investigating a child support

case;
(F) where the request for a credit report is related to a credit transaction entered into prior to January 1, 1993; and

(G) where the request for a credit report is by the Vermont State Tax Department and is used for the purpose of
collecting or investigating delinquent taxes.
(3) lf you believe a law regulating consumer credit reporting has been violated, you may file a complaint with the
Vermont Attorney General's Consumer Assistance Program, 104 Morrill Hall, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont

05405.

Vermont Consumers

Have The Right to obtain a Security Freeze

You have a right to place a "security freeze" on your credit report pursuant to 9 V.S.A. 5 2480h at no charge if you are a

victim of identity theft. All other Vermont consumers will pay a fee to the credit reporting agency of up to 510.00 to
place the freeze on the¡r credit report. The security freeze will prohibit a credit reporting agency from releasing any

information in your credit report without your express author¡zation. A security freeze must be requested in writing by

certified mail.
The security freeze is designed to help prevent credit, loans, and services from being approved in your name without
your consent. However, you should be aware that using a security freeze to take control over who gains access to the

personal and financial information in your credit report may delay, interfere with, or prohibit the timely approval of any

subsequent request or application you make regarding new loans, credit, mortgage, insurance, government services or
payments, rental housing, employment, ¡nvestment, license, cellular phone, utilities, digital signature, internet credit

card transact¡on, or other services, including an extension of credit at po¡nt of sale.

When you place a security freeze on your credit report, within ten business days you will be provided a personal

identification number or password to use if you choose to remove the freeze on your credit report or authorize the

release of your credit report for a specific party, part¡es or period of time after the freeze is in place. To provide that

authorization, you must contact the credit reporting agency and provide all of the following:
(1)The unique personal identification number or password provided by the credit reporting agency.

(2) Proper identification to ver¡ry your identity.
(3) The proper information regarding the third party or parties who are to receive the credit report or the period of time

for which the report shall be available to users of the credit report.

A credit reporting agency may charge a fee of up to 55.00 to a consumer who is not a victim of identity theft to remove

the freeze on your credit report or authorize the release of your credit report for a specific party, parties, or period of
time after the freeze is in place. For a victim of identity theft, there is no charge when the victim submits a copy of a

police report, investigative report, or complaint filed with a law enforcement agency about unlawful use of the victim's

personal information by another person.

A credit reporting agency that rece¡ves a request from a consumer to lift temporarily a freeze on a credit report shall

comply with the request no later than three business days after receiving the request.

A security freeze will not apply to "preauthorized approvals of credit." lf you want to stop receiving preauthorized

approvals of credit, you should call [INSERT PHONE NUMBERS] [ALSO ¡NSERT ALL OTHER CONTACT INFORMATION FOR

PRESCREENED OFFER OPT OUT.I

A security freeze does not apply to a person or ent¡ty, or its affiliates, or collection agencies acting on behalf of the

person or entity with which you have an existing account that requests information in your credit report for the

purposes of reviewing or collecting the account, provided you have previously given your consent to this use of your

credit reports. Reviewing the account includes activit¡es related to account maintenance, monitoring, credit line

increases, and account upgrades and enhancements.
you have a right to br¡ng a civil action against someone who violates your rights under the credit reporting laws. The

action can be brought against a credit reporting agency or a user of your credit report."

(d) The information required to be disclosed by this section shall be disclosed in writing. The information required to be

disclosed pursuant to subsection (c) of this section shall be disclosed on one sid.e of a separate document, with text no



smaller than that prescr¡bed by the Federal Trade C¡mmission for the notice required under 15 U.S.C. S 1681q. The

information required to be d¡sc¡osed pursuant to subsection (c) of this section may accurate¡y reflect changes in

numeriæt items that change overt¡me (such as the phone number or address of Vermont State agenciesl, and remain in

compliance.
(e) The Attorney General may revise this required notice by rule as appropriate from tlme to t¡me so long as no new

substantive rþhts are created therein. (Added 1991, No. 246 (Adj. Sess.), 5 1; amended 1993, No. 3, S 1, eff. April 9,

L993; L997, ¡¡ã. gg (AdJ. Sess.), I 1; 2003, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), I 2, eff. July 1, 2005; 2005, No. 211 (Adi. Sess.l, I 2.)


