Starting July 1, 2019, an applicant for a generation facility within Vermont, including all net-metering facilities, must pay an application fee to the Department of Public Service. The fee must be paid in advance of filing the application with the Public Utility Commission. An application to construct or modify a generation facility that is filed with the Public Utility Commission must include a form indicating that the fee has been paid.
During the 2019 legislative session, the General Assembly passed, and the Governor signed, House Bill 527. The bill adds a requirement, codified in 30 V.S.A.§ 248c, that an application for a generation facility under 30 V.S.A. § 248 include an application fee paid to the Department of Public Service. The application fees provide financial support for the regulatory processing and review of generation facilities conducted by the Department of Public Service and the Public Utility Commission.
Companies that pay the gross receipts tax provided for in 30 V.S.A. § 22 are not required to pay this application fee.
Department/Commission Application Fee Calculation
- $100 application fee and $25 fee for modification requests for any facility eligible to use the net-metering registration form or the net-metering application form. These include:
- Projects with a plant capacity of 50 kW or less
- Rooftop projects
- Hydroelectric projects filing a net metering registration
2. $5 per kW application fee and $100 flat fee for modification requests for all other generation facilities
Refunds of Fees for Withdrawn Applications
An applicant may submit a written request to the Public Utility Commission for an application fee refund for an application withdrawn before the Commission has issued a final decision regarding the application. Such a request must be made within 90 days of the withdrawal of the application.
By law, any refund will be calculated as follows:
- If an application is withdrawn before any State agency files comments, testimony, or a stipulated agreement on the application -- 50% of the fees paid to State agencies above the first $100.
- If an application is withdrawn after any State agency has filed comments, testimony, or a stipulated agreement on the application -- 25% of the fee paid to State agencies above the first $100.
A refund is not permitted once the Public Utility Commission has issued a final decision regarding the application.
Agency of Natural Resources CPG Application Fee
Vermont statute provides for a fee due to the Agency of Natural Resources for certain types of electric generation projects: