The Public Service Department (PSD) is an agency within the executive branch of Vermont state government, and is charged with representing the public interest in energy, telecommunications, water and wastewater utility matters.

The mission of the PSD is to serve all citizens of Vermont through public advocacy, planning, programs, and other actions that Chris Recchia Photomeet the public's need for least cost, environmentally sound, efficient, reliable, secure, sustainable, and safe energy, telecommunications, and regulated utility systems in the state for the short and long term.

We work to advance Vermonter’s quality of life, economy and security through implementation of our statewide energy and telecommunications goals,  using sound statewide energy and telecommunications planning, strong public advocacy of the public good, and through strong consumer protection advocacy for individuals. 

For more information about the PSD, please visit our About Us page.

Christopher Recchia, Commissioner

Quick Links:

DigSafe® ♦ Smart Grid ♦ Total Energy Study ♦ Transportation & Land Use ♦ Building Energy Codes- Residential & Commercial/Industrial ♦ Energy Generation Siting Policy CommissionNuclear ♦ VT Fuel Price Report ♦ vermont.gov





Attorney General Warns of Phony Power Disconnection Calls

Vermont Attorney General William Sorrell is warning electric power consumers of a re-occurring telephone scam. The Attorney General’s Consumer Assistance Program has received reports of fraudulent calls to Vermonters from individuals claiming to represent a power company and threatening imminent disconnection of power if funds are not sent immediately. Caller ID for these calls may even show a number the same as or similar to a power company phone number, but are not actually originating from a utility. If you receive a call from someone claiming your power is about to be disconnected, hang up. If you want to verify the claim, call the customer service number on your utility bill. If you need assistance in resolving an actual disconnection issue with your utility, you may contact the Vermont Department of Public Service Consumer Affairs Division at 800-622-4496.

This scam, like other common telephone frauds, appears to be using Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) telephone services to place calls over an internet connection, which will mask the callers’ location, as well as software that allows the callers to “spoof” the Caller ID system. Consumers should not respond to the calls or call the numbers provided by the scammers. Consumers who have responded and sent funds should contact the Attorney General's Consumer Assistance Program, their electric utility, and their financial institution immediately to protect their accounts. Receipt of these kinds of calls, along with any other scams consumers receive, can be reported to the Consumer Assistance Program by email at ago.cap@state.vt.us, or by calling 800-649-2424.

The Attorney General's Office is reminding consumers to be wary of any calls they did not initiate that solicit funds for any purpose. Consumers should never give out personal or account information to an unverified source. For more information on financial frauds, identity theft and other scams, visit the Consumer Assistance Program website at https://www.uvm.edu/consumer/


Public Invited to Submit Comments on Vermont Yankee

Public invited to submit comments on Vermont Yankee Site Assessment Study and draft Post-Shutdown Decommissioning Activities Report


The Public Service Department today announced that it is seeking written public comments on the Vermont Yankee Site Assessment Study (SAS), and draft Post-Shutdown Decommissioning Activities Report (PSDAR) recently published by Entergy. Public comments on the draft PSDAR received by November 25, 2014 will be considered for inclusion with the Public Service Department’s comments that will be provided to Entergy for incorporation with its PSDAR submittal to the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission. All public comments received on the draft PSDAR and the SAS will be considered for inclusion with the State’s evaluation of the Vermont Yankee Site Assessment Survey, and may also be considered for discussion at a future Vermont Nuclear Decommissioning Citizens Advisory Panel meeting.

Written comments may be mailed electronically to the State Nuclear Engineer at the following address: anthony.leshinskie@state.vt.us

Please include “PSDAR/SAS Comments” in the email subject line.
Written comments may also be mailed to the Public Service Department at the following address:

Vermont Public Service Department
112 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-2601

To facilitate the ease of compiling all comments received, please consider emailing comments as an attached MSWord or PDF document. When sending comments via U.S. mail, please consider using a Compact Disk (CD) and either MSWord or PDF format.  

The entire SAS and draft PSDAR are available online at http://vydecommissioning.com/document-library/.  Additional information on VY’s decommissioning is available at http://publicservice.vermont.gov/topics/electric/nuclear#NDCAP.