Skip to main content

UUDP - Enforcement

The Vermont Department of Public Service vigorously enforces the damage prevention laws and Public Utility Commission (PUC) rules.  We investigate all utility damages reported to the Department relying on damage reports filed by utilities and/or excavators, interviews with eyewitnesses, and review of any photographs or other documentation submitted.  The Vermont Statutes Title 30, Chapter 86 and Public Utility Commission Rule 3.800 clearly define the obligations and responsibilities of excavators, utilities, and locators.  Read and be familiar with these laws and rules; your compliance protects the safety and well-being of yourself and all Vermonters.

Vermont Statutes Title 30, Chapter 86, Sections 7000

The Department of Public Service utilizes a "rolling" year to determine how many violations an entity has had and fines are calculated accordingly.

The fine schedule, as defined in the Statute, is as follows:

  • up to $500.00 for the first offense.

  • up to $1000.00 for the second offense within one year.

  • up to $1500.00 for the third offense within one year.

  • up to $5000.00 for the fourth or subsequent offense within one year.

PUC Rule 3.800

The PUC Rule 3.800 spells out details on the implementation of the Vermont Statutes above.